Vladimir Herzog Award pays tribute to Patrícia Campos Mello and Glenn Greenwald

Journalists to receive special trophy for outstanding work on the causes of Democracy, Peace and Justice. The ceremony will take place on 24 October in São Paulo

The journalists Patrícia Campos Mello (Folha de São Paulo) and Glenn Greenwald (The Intercept Brasil) will receive the Vladimir Herzog Special Award this year. Hermínio Sacchetta, an icon of old school writing and of a entire generations of Brazilian journalists, will be honoured in memoriam.

The decision was announced on Wednesday 21 August by the organising committee of the 41st Vladimir Herzog Journalism Award for Amnesty and Human Rights, to take place on 24 October this year.

It is worth mentioning that since 2009 the organising institutions have reinstated the original purpose of the Award, meaning that personalities and journalists who have produced outstanding work in the period, can be honoured in each edition, along with those who have contributed to the causes of Democracy, Peace and Justice.

The following have been honoured over the past four decades: Lourenço Diaféria (in memoriam), David de Moraes, Audálio Dantas, Elifas Andreato, Alberto Dines, Lúcio Flavio Pinto, Perseu Abramo (creator of the Award, in memoriam), Marco Antônio Tavares Coelho, Raimundo Pereira, Sandra Passarinho, Rubens Paiva (in memoriam), Mino Carta, Mauro Santayana, Daniel Herz (in memoriam), Eduardo Galeano (in memoriam), Elio Gaspari, Cláudio Abramo (in memoriam), Tim Lopes (in memoriam), D. Paulo Evaristo Arns (in memoriam), Rose Nogueira and Bernardo Kucinski

2019 Tributes
Patrícia Campos Mello works as a correspondent and columnist at Folha de S. Paulo. She recently received the Committee to Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Award after she suffered reprisals and threats on the internet, for a story that uncovered electoral crimes during Jair Bolsonaro’s presidential campaign. The special tribute of this edition of the Award is not only for her important work in Journalism but also for the courage, resistance and persistence that she proved to possess in the face of the adversities of her profession, that will motivate her own generation and ones to come to fight for freedom of expression and the right to information in Brazil.

Glenn Greenwald, Lawyer and Journalist, is one of the founders of The Intercept Brasil, the site responsible for a series of stories, entitled Vaza Jato, that provide evidence of suspicious conduct by the Brazilian judiciary based on conversations on the application Telegram. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 2014, for articles in the Guardian on the National Security Agency (NSA) surveillance programme in the United States, uncovered by Edward Snowden. This year’s tribute of the VHA is recognition of his important work in Journalism and his life of resistance, courage and persistence, an example for so many generations. With this tribute, the Committee is also honouring the brave team at The Intercept Brasil, whose exceptional work has stimulated the defence of freedom of expression and the right to information in our country, on many levels.

Hermínio Sacchetta began his career in journalism in 1928. He worked in the newsroom at Correio Paulistano, Folha da Manhã, Folha da Noite and Folha de S. Paulo. He was a political militant, editor of the newspaper A Classe Operária and was imprisoned during the dictatorship of the Estado Novo. The Committee, who recognise that paths that connect politics, society, ethics and journalism must pass through that which ‘Velho’ Sacchetta defended, understand that this tribute from the VHA further dignifies the intentions and struggles in the sphere of democratic liberty.

The Herzog Award

The Vladimir Herzog Award is considered one of the most important distinctions in journalism in the country and since its creation in 1979, it has recognised work that enhances Democracy and Human Rights.

2019 has seen a record number of registrations with 692 productions that are already being evaluated by the 33 guest judges in six categories: Arts (illustrations, editorial cartoons, cartoons, caricatures and cartoon strips), Photography, Written Journalism, Video Journalism, Audio Journalism and Multi-Media Journalism.

The announcement of the finalists is scheduled for 27 September and selection of the winners will be on 11 October in a public judging session in the Oscar Pedroso Horta Room at the Municipal Chamber of São Paulo.

The 41st Vladimir Herzog Journalism Award for Amnesty and Human Rights is promoted and organised by a committee made up of the following institutions: The Brazilian Press Association (ABI); National Federation of Journalists (FENAJ); Union of Professional Journalists of the State of São Paulo; Brazilian Association of Investigative Journalism (ABRAJI); Brazilian Society for Interdisciplinary Studies on Communication (Intercom); School of Communications and Arts at the University of São Paulo (ECA/USP); São Paulo State Police Ombudsman’s Office; Justice and Peace Commission of the Archdiocese of São Paulo; Conectas Human Rights; Federal Council of the Brazilian Bar Association (OAB Nacional); São Paulo Chapter of the Brazilian Bar Association; Periferia em Movimento collective; United Nations in Brazil Information Centre (UNIC Rio) and The Vladimir Herzog Institute.

Calendar of Events
41st Vladimir Herzog Journalism Award for Amnesty and Human Rights

Selection Process: 11 August to 22 September
Announcement of Finalists: 27 September on premiovladimirherzog.org
Selection Session and Announcement of the Winners: Friday 11 October, in a public judging session at the Municipal Chamber of São Paulo / Oscar Pedroso Horta Room
Live Internet Broadcast, from 10am to 2pm, on: http://www.camara.sp.gov.br/transparencia/auditorios-online/
Chat with the Winners: Thursday 24 October, from 2pm to 6pm
Award Ceremony: Thursday 24 October at 8pm
Venue: Tucarena (Rua Monte Alegre, 1024, Perdizes – São Paulo/SP)

Further information on www.premiovladimirherzog.org

Find out more

Receive Conectas updates by email