List of winners

See the recipients of the 39th Vladimir Herzog Award for Amnesty and Human Rights

The Organizing Committee of the 39th Vladimir Herzog Journalism Award for Amnesty and Human Rights chose and announced this year’s winners on Monday.

Like in previous years, the session took place in the São Paulo Municipal Legislature and was broadcast live on the legislature’s website. The Vladimir Herzog Award is the only journalistic award in Brazil for which the judging panel is open to the public.

The 2017 edition set another record for the number of entries: 634. The award categories are art, photography, audio, multimedia, text and video.

The selection process traditionally occurs in two stages: first by a panel formed this year by 22 judges from nearly all the Brazilian states and then by a commission of leaders of the award’s 12 organizing institutions.

See below the list of winners:


“Carandiru Massacre”
Jornal A Tarde – Salvador/Bahia

Honorable Mention
Bruno Nobru, Ciro Barros and Julio Falas
“Ricardo Silva, executed by the Military Police”
Agência Pública – São Paulo/São Paulo


Fábio Teixeira
Photo at the start of the article “Shootings, killings and no-knock raids dominate Alemão favela complex”
VICE – São Paulo/São Paulo

Honorable Mention
Nelson Antoine
Photo at the start of the article “Municipal government removes homeless from viaduct in São Paulo”
Portal da Band – São Paulo/São Paulo


Claudia Rocha
“Residents of the Moinho favela talk about routine repression by Military Police one month after killing of teenager”
Ponte Jornalismo – São Paulo/São Paulo

Honorable Mention
Gabriel Jacobsen and Daiane Vivatti
“Invisible stories”
Rádio Guaíba – Porto Alegre/Rio Grande do Sul

Honorable Mention
Hebert Araújo
“Giving birth to pain”
Rádio CBN João Pessoa – João Pessoa/Paraíba


Ângela Bastos, Aline Fialho, Chico Duarte, Felipe Carneiro, Julia Pitthan, Maiara Santos, Ricardo Wolffenbüttel
“Alone: stories of women who suffer rural violence”
Diário Catarinense – Florianópolis/Santa Catarina

Honorable Mention
Thiago Reis, Alexandre Nascimento, Alexandre Mauro, Beatriz Souza, Fabíola Glenia, Glauco Araújo, Igor Estrella, Kleber Tomaz, Marcelo Brandt, Mariana Mendicelli, Rodrigo Cunha, Rogério Banquieri, Sávio Ladeira and Wagner Santos

“Map of homophobia in São Paulo”

G1 – São Paulo/São Paulo


Patrick Camporez Mação, Luísa Torre and Marcelo Prest
“Special report on Quilombola communities”
Agência Pública – São Paulo/São Paulo

Honorable Mention
Adriana Bernardes and Renato Alves
“Brasília Confidential”
Correio Braziliense – Brasília/Federal District

Honorable Mention
André Borges and Werther Santana
“Encroaching on the isolated”
O Estado de S. Paulo – São Paulo/São Paulo


Bruno Della Latta, Cláudio Guterres, Nunuca Vieira and Renata Ceribelli
“Who am I?”
TV Globo – São Paulo/São Paulo

Honorable Mention
Gabriela Pimentel, Domingos Meirelles, Heleine Heringer, Natália Fiorentino
“Lidiany’s hell”
TV Record – São Paulo/São Paulo

The ceremony to present the Vladimir Herzog Award will take place on October 31, at 8 pm in the Tucarena auditorium of the TUCA theater in São Paulo. The 6th Round Table Conversation will be held on the same day at 2 pm, when the winning journalists will talk about the complexities and the stories behind their award-winning works. Both events are free and open to the public.

Click here for more information on this edition of the Vladimir Herzog Award.

Find out more

Receive Conectas updates by email